10 Little Things to Brighten Your Day

Hey lovelies!

We all know that waking up and getting out of bed is probably most people’s least favorite thing to do. A lot of the time, for me anyways, by the time Tuesday morning rolls around, it has already been a long week. However, I have some tricks I use throughout the day to make each one a little bit brighter and more enjoyable, and today,  I’m sharing them with you! Here are my 10 tips on how to brighten your day:

1. SET ENOUGH ALARMS

I’m one of those people that needs around 5 different alarms to make sure I wake up on time. I usually set one for way before I need to be up. This helps wake me up a bit and get ready for the next alarm. Pro Tip: Make sure not to choose your favorite song as your alarm. Trust me, you’ll end up hating it. Choose a song that can gradually wake you up and make sure it’s one that you won’t dread hearing every morning.

2. DRINK WATER

One of the first things you want to do when you wake up is drink a glass of water. It’s proven that this helps boost your metabolism and it helps hydrate you after a good night’s sleep. 8 glasses of water a day is what doctors recommend, but I tend to carry a water bottle with me wherever I go and end up drinking way more than 8 glasses worth. I highly suggest trying this out because you’ll be amazed how much better you feel when you drink water throughout the day.

3. PICK A PLAYLIST

Something I love to do every morning when I wake up is pick a playlist that consists of music that makes me happy. Now, this can vary day by day, but usually consists of 70’s music or something with an easy-going vibe to it. I play it while I brush my teeth, do my makeup, get dressed, and sometimes even on my way to class if I’m really digging the playlist. The pre-made Spotify playlists are great for helping me find a different one every morning.

4. DO YOUR MAKEUP

This might be the last thing you want to do when you wake up, but in my personal experience, the saying “look good; feel good” has rung true. For me, I’ve always felt more beautiful with makeup on that enhances my features. So even if it’s just taking 2 seconds to put on some mascara, that already tells me my day will be better.

5. PICK AN OUTFIT

Trust me, there is no one that loves wearing leggings and a t-shirt more than I do. But, I find that, like in #4, when I put effort into my appearance, I always feel better about myself. A lot of the times, my outfits consist of leggings and a cute sweater or a shirt that I still feel comfortable in thrown together with some cute accessories and my RayBans. Although simple, it’s something that is quick, easy, and looks good while still making me feel like me. For me, the key to fashion is finding something that makes you think you look good and something that makes you feel comfortable in your own skin.

297368ed529d786ae43344da48fa5b44

6. EAT, EAT, EAT!

I’ve learned this the hard way. Eating less than three meals a day can really deprive your body of vital nutrients it needs to stay healthy and ward off sicknesses. If I can’t wake up early enough to go to breakfast before my classes, I always make sure to grab something after, whether it’s a breakfast wrap, a sandwich, or even just an apple. Fueling your body is one of the most important things you can do and if you don’t you’ll feel tired and hungry all day.

7. TAKE TIME FOR YOURSELF

I get that there are days when we’re super busy and can’t find a spare moment, but even if it’s just 5 minutes of doing something you love to do, it’ll be worth it at the end of the day. Whether this is finding time to workout, do yoga, write, draw, or anything like that, make time to be able to do it. On days where I’m insanely busy, I’ll still set aside 5 or 10 minutes to just scroll through Pinterest or find inspiration somewhere. Trust me, this will help.

8. GIVE YOUR ALL

I know that there are times where we’re just not feeling it or we’re tired or for some other reason we just don’t want to try. Even though we feel like this sometimes, it’s important to always give your all for however you’re feeling. If you’ve caught a cold and you feel that giving your all would be about 50% of what it otherwise would be if you were healthy, just remember: 50% is better than 0%. It is always better to try your hardest, no matter how you feel. It’ll be much more rewarding and you will feel much more fulfilled than if you give up.

9.TAKE CARE OF YOUR SKIN

This is so important. After a long day, your skin has gone through a lot. I tend to shower at night, so I use my Neutrogena® Oil-Free Acne Wash Pink Grapefruit Facial Cleanser followed by St. Ives® Blemish Control Apricot Scrub to really clean my pores. You can’t forget to moisturize! Your skin loses so much hydration throughout the day, so you want to make sure you restore it before going to sleep. I use the St. Ives® Daily Hydrating Body Lotion with Vitamin E. It does lots of great things for the skin and always leaves my face super soft. Finally, right before I go to bed, I put Aquaphor® on my lips. This will help lock in the moisture and will get rid of any irritation or chapped lips.

10. WRITE ABOUT YOUR DAY

This is something that I, myself, find difficult to keep up with. From extracurricular activities to homework to keeping a social life, it’s hard to find the time to reflect on your day, but I find that when I do make time to do this, I know I will always be grateful that I did because it means I can go back, years later, and remember things that I might have otherwise forgotten. It’s also good to spend about the last 30 minutes before you go to sleep doing something other than going on your phone or computer. This allows your brain to calm down and will make it much easier for you to go to sleep!

Even I have days where these things seem like too much work or I’m just not in the mood to do them, but when I do decide to do them, I find I always feel much better and have a more fulfilled day. Give them a try and I promise you’ll feel it too!

Stay Classy!

screen-shot-2016-12-01-at-11-11-23-am

One Comment Add yours

  1. Samantha Arten says:

    Yes! I didn’t figure out many of these until college, and some of them I didn’t even figure out until grad school! I’d only add one more: get enough sleep! I subsisted on five hours a night in high school, and never understood why I was exhausted and sick with colds all the time. Now I get 9 hours a night and am so much happier, healthier, and more productive. Good for you for figuring all of these out so early in life. 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Samantha Arten

    Like

Leave a Reply

